Back to top

The Carl & Roberta Deutsch Foundation Announces 2014 Halo Award Winners

Monday, November 17, 2014

The Carl & Roberta Deutsch Foundation is pleased to announce the following 2014 Halo Award Winners

  • Beauty Bus Foundation & Patti Amaral
  • CASA of Los Angeles & Sam Herod
  • El Centrito Family Learning Centers & Maria Teresa Torres
  • Families Forward & Carol Pukli
  • Good Shepherd Shelter & Joe Herman
  • Safe Place for Youth & Sally Paquette

The Halo Award Committee, tasked with selecting the ultimate winners, was comprised of the following nonprofit leaders:

  • Sam Chan, District Chief, LA County Department of Mental Health
  • Anne Coscarelli, Director, UCLA Simms-Mann Center of Integrative Oncology
  • Kristina Deutsch, Advisory Committee Member, The Carl & Roberta Deutsch Foundation
  • Terrie Doizaki, Program Officer, Weingart Foundation
  • Jeff Schaffer, VP & Market Leader (So Cal), Enterprise Community Partners
  • Debra Suh, Executive Director, Center for the Pacific Asian Family (2011 Halo Awardee)
  • Mark Wilson, Executive Director, Corporation for Responsible Community Development

Throughout the award process, it became clear just how cherished and important committed volunteers are in the nonprofit sector of Greater Los Angeles.  The Halo Award Committee found it challenging to choose from such a stellar group of applicants.  What tipped the scales for the winners were their individual strategies to strengthen their volunteer programs in sustainable ways, an important focus for The Foundation.

The number of applications also demonstrates the importance of funding for capacity building around volunteer management.  The Carl & Roberta Deutsch Foundation was honored to have a chance to reward and learn from this year’s Halo Award winners, and we look forward to hearing what thoughtful ideas next year’s applicants have for building their own capacity around attracting, developing, and/or sustaining their volunteers.  

Funding Issue Area & Geographic Regions